Schengen Visa for Iceland

Iceland is a member of the Schengen cooperation which exempts travelers from border controls travelling between 26 EU and EFTA states (Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland). A uniform Schengen visa issued by one of the Schengen states is valid for travel within the whole Schengen area. Schengen visa should be applied for at an Embassy representing the state where the main destination is within the Schengen area.

All persons requiring visas, must apply for a visa at the applicable embassy/consulate before travelling to the Schengen area. For a list of embassies/consulates which handle applications for Iceland, see here.

The validity of a uniform Schengen visa is up to 90 days.
Who needs a visa to travel to Iceland?
For a list of who needs a visa to travel to Iceland, visit the website of the Icelandic Directorate of Immigration.
How to apply for a visa to Iceland
- In the United Kingdom, Schengen visas for Iceland are arranged through the Embassy of Denmark.
- Book an appointment online with VFS Global to submit your application. Please allow plenty of time as it can take a while to get an appointment.
- For information on the visa application procedure please visit the website of the Embassy of Denmark.

Transit visa
The citizens of the following countries need a transit visa when passing through an airport in Iceland*:

- Afghanistan
- Bangladesh
- The People's Republic of Congo
- Eritrea
- Ethiopia
- Ghana
- Iran
- Iraq
- Nigeria
- Pakistan
- Somalia
- Sri Lanka
* This does not apply if the above-mentioned citizens have a residence permit in a Schengen country or if they have "Leave to remain in the United Kingdom for an indefinite period" or "Certificate of entitlement to the right of abode", and the permits are valid three months longer than the intended transiting through an airport in Iceland.


Video Gallery

View more videos