Icelandic musicians at the Foundling Museum.

The first concert in a lunch time recital series will take place this coming Thursday at the Foundling Museum in London at 13 pm. All the performers are young Icelandic classical musicians who will perform various music.  The series will run from this February till July with one concert per month.  

This Thursday, a Berlin based trio will perform music by Stravinsky, Bartók and Leifur Þórarinsson.  The trio is: 

Arngunnur Árnadóttir, clarinet

Hákon Bjarnason, piano

Joaquin Páll Palomares, violin

The Foundling Museum is located very close to Russell Square station.
40 Brunswick Square
London WC1N 1AZ, United Kingdom
020 7841 3600 

Arngunnur Árnadóttir studied at the Reykjavík College of Music and the Iceland Academy of the Arts. Since 2008, she has been studying at Hochschule für Musik "Hanns Eisler" in Berlin, where her teachers are Ralf Forster and Wenzel Fuchs.

In 2006 Arngunnur performed Mozarts Clarinet Concerto with the orchestra of the Reykjavík College of Music. She has also performed as a soloist with The Iceland Symphony Orchestra, in 2005 she played Johann Stamitz’ Clarinet Concerto and in 2008 Debussy’s Premiere Rhapsodie, after winning in the orchestra’s Young Soloists Competition. In 2009 Arngunnur has played in concerts with The Iceland Symphony Orchestra and Ísafold Chamber Orchestra.


Joaquín Páll Palomares began playing the violin at the age of six. His first teachers were his parents Unnur Pálsdóttir and Joaquín Palomares, both violin teachers, making his debut as a soloist eleven years old with the Youth Symphony Orchestra of Murcia playing the Spanish Symphony by E. Lalo. He continued his studies in Iceland until 2008. Since then, he has been a student of the Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler in Berlin where he studies with Ulf Wallin.

In October 2007 he won the Icelandic competition for young soloists and played the Sibelius concerto with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra in January 2008. In Februar the same year he played the same concerto with the Symphony Orchestra of Alicante in Spain.


Hákon Bjarnason studied the piano in Iceland where his main teacher was Halldór Haraldsson at the Icelandic Academy of the Arts. In 2008, he performed Prokofiev´s piano concerto 1 with the Icelandic Symphony Orchestra after having won their soloist competition. He won the first prize in the EPTA piano competition in Iceland in 2009 and is currently working and studying in Berlin.

Video Gallery

View more videos