EFTA - A Viable European Free Trade Partner for India?

The European Free Trade Association (EFTA) consists of Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway and Switzerland, who together comprise 0,2% of the world’s population but constitute about 2% of world trade. As an organization, EFTA has proven to be an efficient partner in free trade. Currently, EFTA has concluded FTAs with more than 25 countries, such as Mexico, Singapore, Chile, Turkey and most recently South-Korea.

Ambassador Gretar Mar Sigurdsson was recently appointed Permanent Secretary of State by the Foreign Minister of Iceland. He was earlier the Director of the Ministry’s External Trade Department, and as such he led the work on preparing the important bilateral FTA between Iceland and China. Before that, Mr. Sigurdsson was the Deputy Secretary General of EFTA in Geneva and the Deputy Chief of Mission of Iceland to the EU.

Video Gallery

View more videos