Enlargement of the EEA agreement and EFTA participation in the new EU programmes 2007-2013

A large number of calls for proposals in the new programmes are already open, and will close in the next months. The Commission has explained that applications with EFTA participants will be received and evaluated on equal basis as applications from EU countries.

The EEA EFTA countries Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway have for years participated actively in the EU programmes in areas such as Research, Education, Entrepreneurship, Public Health, Youth, Culture, Media, Transport, and Civil Protection.

From 2007, these programmes have been replaced by new and often larger programmes. These new programmes have all been opened for participation of the EEA EFTA countries, in line with the EEA agreement.

The EEA EFTA countries have already expressed their willingness to participate in all these programmes. These proposals for EEA decisions have been handed over to the EU with a view to establish a legal basis in time for the first calls for proposals.

At this stage the delays in the enlargement negotiations should not affect EEA/EFTA participation in the programmes starting 1 January 2007.

Persons, organisations, enterprises and other bodies in the EEA EFTA countries are encouraged to participate as actively as possible in these first calls.

The new EU programmes starting 2007 :

7th Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development - FP 7 (2007-2013)

The Competitiveness and Innovation Programme - CIP (2007-2013)

The Lifelong learning programme (2007-2013)

Youth in action (2007-2013)

Media (2007-2013)

Public health (2007-2013)

Consumer Protection (2007-2013)

Culture 2007(2007-2013)

Progress (2007-2013) (Employment and Social Solidarity)

Fight against violence (Daphne) (2007-2013)

Drugs prevention and information (2007-2013)

Marco Polo II (2007-2013)

SESAR programme (2007-2013)

For more information about these programmes, an overview over the calls under each programmes, and the contact points in the EFTA countries, see EFTA website.

Video Gallery

View more videos