15 year anniversary of the EEA Agreement

The Agreement on the European Economic Area celebrated its fifteenth anniversary on 1 January 2009. Signed by representatives from six EFTA States and twelve EC Member States in June 1992, the Agreement provides for the free movement of goods, persons, services and capital among its Members, as well as close cooperation in other fields.

The EEA has expanded considerably over these 15 years. It now consists of 3 EFTA States and 27 EU Member States with a combined population of approximately 500 million people, and constitutes the biggest common market in the world. In order to maintain the EEA as a homogenous legal area, the Agreement has been frequently updated, with more than 6000 legal acts incorporated since 1994.

See: www.efta.int

Video Gallery

View more videos