Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization, Preparatory Commission (CTBTO)

The Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban Treaty (CTBT) stipulates total ban on all kinds of nuclear tests aiming at the development of nuclear weapons. A total of 183 countries have signed the Treaty and 161 have ratified it (January 2014). Iceland ratified the Treaty on 26 June 2000. Since the Treaty has not yet entered into force, a special Preparatory Committee was set up in Vienna to prepare the ratification of the Treaty.

The significance of the Treaty lies in the fact that States in possession of Nuclear Weapons are prohibited from testing Nuclear Weapons. The CTBT furthermore prohibits countries not in possession of Nuclear Weapons to develop such weapons by way of nuclear tests. One of the main aims of the CTBTO is to develop an international monitoring system based on a net of 337 monitoring stations. Such monitoring facilities must be in place when the Treaty enters into force. Two such monitoring facilities are in place in Iceland, one for monitoring earthquakes and the other for measuring radioactivity.

Minister Plenipotentiary Mr. Guðni Bragason presented Dr. Lassina Zerbo, Executive Secretary of the Comprehensive Nuclear Test-Ban-Treaty Organization (CTBTO) his letters of credence as Permanent Representative of Iceland to the CTBTO on 21 June 2018.


Video Gallery

View more videos