Visas and passport validity

Schengen Visas

As of 25 March 2001, Iceland is an associate member of the Schengen Agreement which exempts travellers from personal border controls between 22 EU countries: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden, two European Economic Area (EEA) countries: Norway and Iceland, and then Switzerland. Great Britain and Ireland are not members of the Schengen Agreement.

Who needs a visa to travel to Iceland?

Please click here to see if you require a visa to visit Iceland

For detailed information about visa requirements to Iceland see The Icelandic Directorate of Immigration.

How to apply for a Schengen visa for Iceland

In the United Kingdom, Schengen visas for Iceland are arranged through the Embassy of Denmark.

For further information, please contact the Embassy of Denmark or the Denmark Visa Application Centre (VFS Global).

Embassy of Denmark:  Visa information
Where to apply for a Schengen visa to visit Iceland:  Denmark Visa Application Centre


Passports and ID cards

A valid passport is necessary for visitors to Iceland, except for citizens of the Nordic countries: Denmark, Finland, Norway and Sweden.

Citizens of the following countries may enter Iceland using, instead of passports, national identity cards issued by the competent authorities in their countries of origin: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain and Switzerland.

Passport validity

The validity of the passport or recognized ID card must be at least three months beyond the proposed stay, except for citizens of EEA/EFTA countries.  Those documents only need to be valid beyond the stay in Iceland.

Inspired by Iceland